Samadhi Pada



The mind can be fixed on anything from the microcosm to the macrocosm of this universe - paramanu parama mahathwa antho asya vashigara. A mind perfected through meditation will become like a polished mirror and gain unity consciousness with the object of meditation. This state of mind is called Samapathi. Samapathi is a state of mind where the mind is flowing towards the object of meditation uninterruptedly but is still impure.

All four states of Samadhi are Sabeeja Samadhi because the mind is still dependent on the object of meditation. Nirvichara Samadhi, over a period of practice, leads one to a blissful state - Athyathma prasada.

At this stage, consciousness attains Rthambhara state where it is free from all doubts and desires. This Rthambara state of consciousness is superior when compared to normal consciousness, which is based on the understanding derived from what is seen, heard, and experienced, as it is capable of receiving superior knowledge - Vishesha Jnana.

Impressions (Samskaras) that arise from this Rthambara state of consciousness are capable of wiping away all the impressions that were born out of ordinary consciousness.

Nirvichara Samadhi, purified through rthambara prajna, leads one to Nirbheeja Samadhi.

To overcome the above obstacles, one must practice eka thathwa (single-minded practice; choose one path and stick to it).re.

To succeed in sadhana, one should develop:

By practicing the above, one finds purity in the mind (Chitta Prasadanam).

One should focus their mind on:

The major obstacles in practice are:

Samskaras cease to exist when the mind reaches the state of Virama Prathyaya. Virama Prathyaya is the stillness of awareness/mind detached from the object of meditation. Bhava Prathyaya is the state of awareness where there is no body consciousness.

When the sadhana/practice attains qualities like Shraddha, Virya, Smrithi, Samadhi, and prajna, and when such sadhana is intense, that sadhaka/practitioner is bound to experience asamprajatha Samadhi. These types of sadhakas are called vairaghis.

Asamprajnatha Samadhi is the state of mind that is independent of the object of meditation and has transcended the state and qualities of awareness (state of awareness - Pramana, Viparyaya, Smrithi, Vikalpa, Nidra; qualities - Vitharka, Vichara, Ananda, Asmitha).

Sadhakas or practitioners are of three types: Mruthu - Soft, Mantha - Lazy/slow, Madhya -Average.

Ishwara pranidhana

Worship of God, surrender to God, and devotion to God can also lead to

God is beyond Karma (Action), Klesha (fruits of action), Vipaka (incompleteness), Ashraya (support), Nir Athisaya (unlimited), and is the source of all knowledge.

His seed syllable is AUM

He is the Guru (teacher) since he has existed since the creation.

Meditating upon Aum kara also leads one to Self-realization (Abhyantra Bhava).

The other obstacles associated with the major obstacles are:







Anga Mejayathwa


Trembling of the body.

Swasa Praswasa Viksheba


Unsteady breathing.